AIR POLLUTION

Featured image taken from: http://news.discovery.com/earth/weather-extreme-events/7-of-10-most-air-polluted-cities-china-130116.htm

Well I know I’ve already started complaining about the air pollution in my blog, and it’s only going to get worse as January and February roll around. Now I’m encountering the problem again as I’m suddenly finding my schedule of my online job fill up during the Beijing day time hours as children are being kept home from school because of the pollution. Yep Canada has snow days, China has pollution days. I am terrified for my friends living over there, and actually recently Skyped with one of my old co-workers who had to spend an entire day in bed because of the pain in her chest from the bad air. It breaks my heart.

Still when I look up beijing on aqicn.org the pollution levels are not yet anywhere near what they were in Jinan while we were living there. We had weeks where the PM 2.5 max out at a reading of 999, the highest the charts go, several times, and we had the air index read in the 300+ “hazardous” range for weeks on end without clearing, and yet life went on as usual. So why the big deal? Why all the school closures? Is it simply that Beijing is such an international city? As the capital it certainly gets more attention then the rest of china (unlike poor poor Urumqi that has readings in the hazardous range all year round, but is situated way out in the desert away from the westerners view).

Anyways found some horrifying stuff on Jinan, check it out by clicking on the links below.

Jinan’s Air Pollution: We Are Number 1 (For Second Month In A Row)

7 of 10 Most Air-Polluted Cities Are in China

Jinan Air Pollution: Real-time Air Quality Index (AQI)

 

Leave a Reply

